Award Nominations

2019 Nominations open on 2nd July 2018 and close on 1st October 2018.

About the Awards

Bush Ballad Awards

The first Stan Coster Memorial Australian Bush Ballad Award was held in 1998 and attracted 53 nominations. Over the years the number of nominations continues to grow with numbers increasing every year.

The 2019 Bush Ballad Awards will recognise seven (8) categories:

  • Male Vocal
  • Female Vocal
  • New Talent
  • Instrumental
  • Vocal Group or Duo
  • Album
  • Songwriter
  • Comedy Song
  • The Barry Thornton Encouragement Award.

The awards are a special feature for the patrons and in particular the arlists as it gives them an opportunfty to showcase their talents. The Encouragement award is of special importance to the commiltee as it gives members a chance to vote for whom they believe to be a hard worker at their “craft” throughout the year and who is an up and coming Bush Balladeer.

The Award Winners will be announced at the Muster on Saturday night followed
by the Finalists Concert, with all finalists being invited to perform.

The awards are open to Bush Ballad material performed and/or written by Australian artists and songwriters.

Material must be recorded and released in Australia in the two year period leading up to the year of nomination for the Awards (eg. for 2019 Awards, songs must be recorded and released between 1st October 2016 and 30th September 2018). A particular track may only be entered in one (1) year.

Nominations may be submitted by either the recording artist, songwriter or producer. The Bungendore Muster committee has a strong belief in the promotion and preservation of Australian Country Music and the Stan Coster Memorial Bush Ballad Awards and provide a venue for artists to showcase their talents. The success of new artists like Jeff Brown from Queensland (winner of the Stan Coster Memorial Australian Bush Ballard Award new talent in 1999) going on to win the Bush Ballad of the Year in Tamworth 2005 is testament to the value of this event.

Guidelines For Judging Categories:

Vocal Sections: Vocal Ability, Expression, Affinity with the Lyrics

Album: Overall Bush Ballad Content, Quality of Lyrics and Vocals, Production

Songwriter: Quality and Meaning of Lyrics, Melody

NOTE: Vocal ability and performance wiil NOT be criteria for judging.

Judging: The awards will be judged by a panel of five (5) judges. The Judges’ decision will be final and NO correspondence will be entered into.

Finalists: Finalists in each category will be advised no later than 1st December and will be expected to be present at the awards.

2019 nominations open on 2nd July 2018 and close on 1st October 2018.

Additional information can be obtained by contacting us via our Contact page.

Track to Tomorrow Awards

In 2008 the Bungendore Country Muster committee introduced a new award “Track to  Tomorrow’. This award is to encourage and support a young up and coming Bush Balladeer.

The 2008 winner was Pat Brown Jnr from Woolgoolga we wish him all the best with his singing career.

In 2009 we were proud to announce that Lindsay (Waddo) and Reagan Waddington of Kross Kut Records had sponsored recording time for the winner of the 2009 Track To Tomorrow.

We sincerely thank Kross Kut Records for their support.

Young artists under 18 years of age at the 30th September are invited to nominate.

Full Conditions of Entry

  1. Entrants must be between 13 to 18 years of age as at 30th September in the year before the awards (proof of age may be required).
  2. This competition is open to young balladeers wishing to follow a career in Australian Bush Ballads.
  3. Must not have recorded comrnercially.
  4. All entries must be received by 30th December in the year before the awards.
  5. The selected Track to Tomorrow winner will be required to perform at the Bungendore Country Muster on the first Saturday in February in the year of the Award during the Saturday afternoon concert.
  6. Entrants must complete the official entry form to be considered.

For further information contact the committee via our Contact page.