Muster Weekend

Muster Weekend 3rd & 4th February, 2018

The 33rd Bungendore Country Music Muster is being held this weekend, 3rd and 4th February at the Bungendore Showground. The showground gates opened on Monday for campers and caravans who are enjoying a full week of walk ups for campers and invited artists leading up to the festival this weekend.

The Muster weekend kicks off on Saturday morning with the village of Bungendore hosting the Muster busking competition. This is followed at 1pm by the all Australian country music festival at the showground with a fabulous line up of artists providing entertainment over Saturday & Sunday.

The 21st Stan Coster Australian Bush Ballad Awards commence at 8.00pm on Saturday night with finalists performing their winning songs and the announcement of the winners for 2018.

The festival wraps up on Sunday 4th with a gala showcase of award winners from 10.00am – 6.00pm.

The guest list for artists who will be also be performing at the Muster includes two great Country Music Bands, The Bungendore Infigen Muster Band led by Waddo and the ever popular Peter Coad and the Coad Sister’s Band. Brian Leeton, Owen Blundell, Terry Gordon, and Ernie Constance, Justin Standley, Keith Jamieson, Reg Poole, Charmaine Pout, and Di Lindsay and Peter Simpson regular Balladeers at Bungendore, will be popular as usual with their great Australian Country Bush Ballads. Rodney Vincent and The Sheik from Scrubby Creek, Chad Morgan, will provide a variation to the entertainment.

The line-up for the Stan Coster Memorial Australian Bush Ballad Awards on Saturday night will be a true celebration of the Australian bush balladeer with finalists in the following seven categories:

Male Vocal:

Graham Rodger – Our Love Will Always Live
Brian Letton – The Boyup Brook Waltz
Tom Maxwell – Behind the Boundary Gate

Female Vocal:

Sharon Heaslip – A Thousand Different Pictures
Trudy Hintz – Saddle Up and Ride
Dianne Lindsay – Uncle Harry

New Talent:

Jim Samphier – Greendog
Kate Daniel – Trading My Crown For a Ring
Bob Gregory – The Ghost of Bold Ben Hall

Instrumental or Vocal Group or Duo:

Peter Simpson/Alisha Smith – The Bushman’s Song
Terry Bennetts – Turquoise Bay
Lindsay Butler/Anthony Baxter – Things are not the Same on the Land

Album of the Year:

Sharon Heaslip – A Thousand Different Pictures
Graham Rodger – The Plains of Nappa Marrie
Brian Letton – Western Australia Calling me Home


Dale Duncan / Keith Jamieson/ Ray Essery – The Clarence River
Graham Rodger – No More Waltzing Matilda
Brian Letton/Edwards – The Legend of Wally Dowling

Comedy Song of the Year:

Nev Malloy/ Bob Gregory – I’ve Been Married Mate
Brian Letton – She’s Gotta be Emu Export Mate
Sharon Benjamin – The Old Bush Telegraph